Hamlet Dramaturgy

Informing Bethany Lutheran College's Spring 2013 Production. Shows at: April 19, 20, 26, 27 at 7:30pm and April 21 at 2pm

This is a Poll. Take it.

Hey guys,

So I’ve been doing quite a bit of researching and a lot of it is going on the blog, as you may have noticed.

What I’m wondering from you is what you want to know next. I would like to make some sweet handouts but I’m wondering: A) If you will read them and B) What you want to know about.

Here are some topics I have information on and would like to write about. All you have to do is comment your favorite option! If you don’t have a favorite or have an idea for something else you would like to know about, comment and let me know!

1) Themes in Hamlet (Revenge, Honor, Conscience)

2) The Concept: A Look Inside Stylizing a Production and How It Works in Hamlet

3) The Mousetrap: A Play Within a Play

4) Hamlet in Popular Culture

5) Speaking Shakespeare (this would give some exercises to help you perform the Bard’s work)

6) Freud and the Closet Scene

7) Historical Background: Shakespeare’s Contemporary Culture

If, for whatever reason, you don’t want to leave a comment but would still like to give input, feel free to contact me via email, facebook, or mobile device.

And now, for something completely different:

images-7

Lydia Grabau, Dramaturg

15 comments on “This is a Poll. Take it.

  1. Nick Lilienthal
    March 16, 2013

    My vote goes to 1 or 2. Those sound interesting to me.

  2. Guildenchops
    March 16, 2013

    1, 2, and 6 all sound oddly interesting.

  3. Kaitlyn!
    March 16, 2013

    I think this would go under themes, but I’d like to know what contemporary cultures think about the morality of Hamlet and his companions. Is Hamlet all good? Claudius all bad? Etc

  4. August Jeske
    March 16, 2013

    Number six sounds rather informative.

  5. Melby
    March 17, 2013

    2 or 3 I think. The little play intrigues me.

  6. Benji
    March 17, 2013

    1 or 6 here.

  7. Melissa Owen
    March 17, 2013

    I’m up for 1,2 or 7

  8. Aaron Wendroff
    March 17, 2013

    Number 6

  9. Jaakob Maunula
    March 17, 2013

    Number 1 sounds the most interesting for me.

  10. Michael
    March 17, 2013

    1, 2, 3, or 6. I’m perhaps a little indecisive, because I’ll most likely just disagree with you and your research on any of them. 😀

  11. WOMAN
    March 18, 2013

    As the Austrian (and Psych-minor) I have to say “Freud and the Closet Scene” sounds – to say the least – INTRIGUING.

  12. Lyssasassypants
    March 18, 2013

    Uhmm for sure Hamlet in pop culture.

  13. Kristin
    March 19, 2013

    The hidden psychologist in me would love to read about Freud and the Closet Scene!

  14. The Bartlett
    March 24, 2013

    3.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2013 by in Notes from the Dramaturg.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Past Posts

